Author Archives: Echo Ross

Orioles, Adrenaline Claim Men’s and Women’s Canadian Slo-Pitch Titles

There were no repeat champions at the 2016 Canadian Slo-Pitch Championship in Whitehorse.

The defending champion Alberta Oilmen and Miken HR Sports Ladybirds both came up short in their bid for back-to-back titles. The Oilmen were eliminated by the eventual champion ON1 Mike HR Sports Orioles, settling for bronze, while the Ladybirds went out in the first round of the playoffs Friday.

Yukon’s Arnold Wins Top Defensive Player

Tournament awards for both men’s and women’s divisions at the Canadian Slo-Pitch Championship were handed out this afternoon at the Pepsi Softball Centre.

The awards are given out for performance in the round-robin, with the Top Hitter, Top Defensive Player, and MVP of the round-robin recognized. A total of 72 round-robin games were played in the men’s event, and 36 in the women’s event.