Yukon’s Arnold Wins Top Defensive Player

Tournament awards for both men’s and women’s divisions at the Canadian Slo-Pitch Championship were handed out this afternoon at the Pepsi Softball Centre.

The awards are given out for performance in the round-robin, with the Top Hitter, Top Defensive Player, and MVP of the round-robin recognized. A total of 72 round-robin games were played in the men’s event, and 36 in the women’s event.

Mike Arnold, who plays on host Dave’s Cleaning Crew, received the award for Top Defensive Player. While Dave’s did not qualify for the playoff round, Arnold made dozens of plays in the outfield to keep his team in the games and went error-free over their eight games. In addition, he led Dave’s offensively, finishing 15th overall in the tournament stats with a .741 batting average.

Other winners included Saskatchewan’s Dana Dirks, who picked up the MVP award in his 20th Canadian Slo-Pitch Championship. Dirks had two game winning walk-off home runs to lead his team to the playoffs and tied for the top batting average with .833.

BC Bus Drivers’ Jeff Andrews, who also had a batting average of .833 over eight games and posted 22 RBIs, was named Top Hitter.

The women were also big on offense during the round-robin. Top Hitter Melissa Holder of the Ontario Miken Freaks put up a batting average of .850, while Kait Anseeuw from the defending champion Miken HR Sports Ladybirds had an incredible 43 RBIs in just eight games, including 12 home runs, to take home the MVP award.

Manitoba Wild outfielder Paige Smith received the award for Top Defensive Player.